Lewis F. Powell, Jr. Award for Professionalism and Ethics

Powell Award Purpose

The Lewis F. Powell, Jr. Award for Professionalism and Ethics is bestowed upon a person who has rendered exemplary service in the areas of professionalism, ethics, civility, and excellence. Attorneys, judges, government officials, journalists, philanthropists or other community leaders may be recipients of the award. The award gives the American Inns of Court an opportunity to reach out to persons who share the organization's vision of legal service as a distinguished profession. It is not restricted to persons who have been directly involved with the American Inns of Court.

Powell Award Recognition

  • This award is presented in November to the recipient at the American Inns of Court annual Celebration of Excellence at the Supreme Court of the United States.

Powell Award Nominations

  • Nominations should be addressed to the Hon. Carl E. Stewart.
  • Nominations should include sufficient supporting documentation to enable the selection committee to make a reasoned judgment.
  • The nomination deadline is June 1, 2024.

Completed nominations may be submitted by e-mail to Cindy Dennis or mailed to:

American Inns of Court
Attention: Cindy Dennis
225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 770
Alexandria, VA 22314

For more information contact Cindy Dennis by e-mail or (571) 319-4703. Recipient will be selected by July 31.

Support This Program! 

If you would like to help support the long-term success of this program with a multi-year pledge, please visit our Howard T. Markey Endowment Fund page.