Sandra Day O'Connor Award for Professional Service 

O'Connor Award Purpose

The American Inns of Court has established the Sandra Day O'Connor Award for Professional Service honoring an American Inn of Court member in practice ten or fewer years for excellence in public interest or pro bono activities. The purpose of the Award is to honor an Inn member each year for exemplary service and to honor Justice O'Connor for being the paragon of professional service throughout her distinguished career while exemplifying legal excellence, civility, ethics and professionalism.

O'Connor Award Recognition

This award is presented in October to the recipient at the American Inns of Court annual Celebration of Excellence at the Supreme Court of the United States.

O'Connor Award Nominations

  • Nominations should be addressed to Hon. Carl E. Stewart.
  • Nominations should include sufficient supporting documentation to enable the selection committee to make a reasoned judgment.
  • The nomination deadline is June 1, 2024.

Completed nominations may be submitted via e-mail to Cindy Dennis or mailed to:

American Inns of Court
Attention: Cindy Dennis
225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 770
Alexandria, VA 22314

For more information contact Cindy Dennis by e-mail or by phone at (571) 319-4703.  Recipient will be selected by July 31.

Support This Program! 

If you would like to help support the long-term success of this program with a multi-year pledge, please visit our Howard T. Markey Endowment Fund page.